Best Atlanta Tattoo Studio Voted By Creative Loafing Readers

HomeNew Tattoo ImagesTattoo ImagesAll or Nothing ArtworkRead about us in the pressCheck out our bumpin message boardLearn about our studioWatch videos about All or NothingRead our massive gallery of articles about usHow to get hereLearn how to take care of that new tattooCheck out our hellafied links pageShow your support by linking back to usGet some All or Nothing gear at Stranglehold Merch 

Go Back   All or Nothing Tattoo and Art Studio > Open Chat > Technical Questions

Old 11-07-2007, 05:31 PM
Private

Default pale skin versus dark skin: prejudice in canvas

i am a african american tattoo artist first and foremost
80% of my clientele are comprised of dark skin individuals
i read in a recent tattoo magazine, an artist, when asked what
excited him/her the most about tattooing said " i love it when a pale client
comes in".
this disturbs me and i wish to understand is this a mutual feeling among my fellow artist. i also notice the constant discussion about dealing with "darker skin" or "this color wont work on dark skin" like its a problem or mountain in which nobody like to climb.

feedback and input deeply appreciated!
(also post pictures of this situation solved please.)
Submit to Clesto Submit to Digg Submit to Reddit Submit to Furl Submit to Del.icio.us Submit to Spurl Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 06:12 PM
Topshelftattoo

Default Re: pale skin versus dark skin: prejudice in canvas

pale skin takes every color very well. most people like the b1tc4slap effect. meaning how well the color can be seen from far away. finer lines show up better. of my clients 60 percent are darker skinned. i treat everyone the same though depending on the how dark the skin i my line a little thicker. hope that helps
Submit to Clesto Submit to Digg Submit to Reddit Submit to Furl Submit to Del.icio.us Submit to Spurl Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 09:45 PM
Corporal