All or Nothing Tattoo and Art Studio

All or Nothing Tattoo and Art Studio (http://www.allornothingtattoo.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://www.allornothingtattoo.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Is this a normal apprenticeship? (http://www.allornothingtattoo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2730)

artsavvy87 06-13-2008 09:54 PM

Is this a normal apprenticeship?

I have been apprenticing in a small shop in a small town for about seven months now. Its just me and the owner and I am not sure how to take it all. All arrogancy aside I feel I am a very talented artist I was in advanced art classes throughout high school as well as advanced regular classes. I attended a four year university and studied fine arts and I am now classified as a senior. I work a full time job and I am at the shop full time as well. Things started out okay but they have gotten worse and worse. I have found over time that he has taken credit for my artwork, he lies to me and the customers, and he has a very poor work ethic. He is rarely here and he expects me to fufil the positions of counter girl, cleaning lady, and tattoo artist, full time. This is a full custom shop, so this includes drawing up all of his work as well as my own. He pays me 50% of the tattoos I do, but those are few and far between since the clientelle is so limited in a small town. Tattooing is very important to me, but I am afraid his childish behavior and poor ethics are instilling in me something that i will never be able to rid myself of. He is horrible to almost everyone that comes into the shop and treats me like a cash cow half the time and the other half the time he treats me like dirt under his shoes. I feel like I am not learning anything, and I am scared that the tattoos that i have done have not been done correctly, and when i ask for help I get yelled at and treated like a moron in front of costomers and anyone who is in the shop. I want to move to a larger city and start my apprenticeship o